Utah 3 day loop!

<a href=”heavyhustler_Treed_Spiple's Story” title=”Utah 3 day loop!”>Utah 3 day loop!

A 3 day loop through Utah testing out my Alaska kit!  We rode up to Mexican Hat and camped out on top of the Mogi Rim at a spot called Mulie Point.  Great views, a little windy, and having a full moon made it a little tough sleeping!  All in all it was pretty cool up there.  Day 2 we rode through Glen Canyon and Dixie Forest on the 12.  More fab views!  Love this ride.  Our camp site for night 2 was at a little hide away out at he Coral Sand Dune just north of Kanab.  A lower elevation but it sure seemed to cool off more!  I was definitely colder here and there was little to no wind!?!  Day 3 was a quick ride home to Phoenix, AKA- Satan’s Armpit, and warmer temps.

1126 miles of smiles!

Overall I was very happy with how all of my gear held up.  One concern though was keeping warm at night!  I was sleeping in long johns and such but just couldn’t keep warm.  I have these thin, light weight sleeping bags, that are suppose to be good but a friend of mine says you need to sleeping in just your roos so the sleeping bags will contain your body heat.  I guess I’ll give it a shot, if it doesn’t work I’ll pick up another SB along the way or something.

I also got a chance to try out a JetBoil my friend lent me.  That stove is the dogs bollocks!  Never had an easier time heating water for my meals!  I also have an MSR style one but it’s nowhere near as slick as the JetBoil!  I can see how they get away with charging so much for them.

Mountain house freeze dried foods!  Not bad for freeze dried, but then you’ll eat just about anything when your hungry!  I got a box of 10 from Costco for $42.50, saved a tonne over REI, and they came with 4 meals.  Lasangna, Beef Strogonaff, Teriyaki Chicken, Beef Stew.  They are 2.5 serving portions but I am able to polish on off pretty good.  Overall they are pretty good but need some pepper and hot sauce to make them yummy!  Side note, eating these seemed to make me crap less even though I was drinking coffee in the morning!

I am thinking as I progress I will sort out any other potential problems on the road.  I am versatile enough to tough it out if need be.  😉

Leave a comment